Menu
Home Page

J K Rowling Competition

The Ickabog  is a story written by J K Rowling a long time ago.  She used to read it to her two younger children chapter by chapter each night while she was working on it. However, when the time came to publish it, she decided to put out a book for adults instead, which is how The Ickabog ended up in her attic. She became busy with other things, and even though she loved the story, over the years she came to think of it as something that was just for her own children.

 

Then this lockdown happened. It’s been very hard on children, in particular, so she brought The Ickabog down from the attic, read it for the first time in years, rewrote bits of it and then read it to her children again. They told her to put back in some bits they’d liked when they were little, and that's as far as she has got!  The Ickabog will be published in instalments, a chapter (or two, or three), at a time. It isn’t Harry Potter and it doesn’t include magic.  This is an entirely different story. 

 

Later this year, J K Rowling will publish the full story and she needs the help of children all over the country to illustrate the book. Every day, she’ll be making suggestions for what you might like to draw. You can enter the official competition being run by her publishers, for the chance to have your artwork included in a printed version of the book due out later this year. She’ll be giving suggestions as to what to draw as you go along, but you should let your imagination run wild.

 

J K Rowling won’t be judging the competition. Each publisher will decide what works best for their editions. However, if you, your parent or your guardian would like to share your artwork on Twitter using the hashtag #TheIckabog, She’ll be able to see it and maybe share and comment on it!  You can also take a picture or scan your work and email it to me so that I can upload illustrations from Crockenhill on this page.   When the book is published in November, J K Rowling will  donate all her royalties to help people who have been affected by the coronavirus.   Full details will be available later in the year.

Chapter 1 King Fred the Fearless https://www.theickabog.com/king-fred-the-fearless/
Chapter 2 The Ickabog https://www.theickabog.com/the-ickabog/
Chapter 3 Death of a Seamstress https://www.theickabog.com/death-of-a-seamstress/
Chapter 4 The Quiet House https://www.theickabog.com/the-quiet-house/
Chapter 5 Daisy Dovetail https://www.theickabog.com/daisy-dovetail/
Chapter 6 The Fight in the Courtyard https://www.theickabog.com/the-fight-in-the-courtyard/
Chapter 7 Lord Spittleworth tells Tales https://www.theickabog.com/lord-spittleworth-tells-tales/
Chapter 8 The Day of Petition https://www.theickabog.com/the-day-of-petition/
Chapter 9 The Shepherd's Story https://www.theickabog.com/the-shepherds-story/
Chapter 10 King Fred's Quest https://www.theickabog.com/king-freds-quest/
Chapter 11 The Journey North https://www.theickabog.com/the-journey-north/
Chapter 12 The King's Lost Sword https://www.theickabog.com/the-kings-lost-sword/
Chapter 13 The Accident https://www.theickabog.com/the-accident/
Chapter 14 Lord Spittleworth's Plan https://www.theickabog.com/lord-spittleworths-plan/
Chapter 15 The King Returns https://www.theickabog.com/the-king-returns/
Chapter 16 Bert says Goodbye https://www.theickabog.com/bert-says-goodbye/
Chapter 17 Goodfellow makes a stand https://www.theickabog.com/goodfellow-makes-a-stand/
Chapter 18 End of an Advisor https://www.theickabog.com/end-of-an-advisor/
Chapter 19 Lady Eslanda https://www.theickabog.com/lady-eslanda/
Chapter 20 Medals for Beamish and Buttons https://www.theickabog.com/medals-for-beamish-and-buttons/
Chapter 21 Professor Fraudysham https://www.theickabog.com/professor-fraudysham/
Chapter 22 The House with no Flags https://www.theickabog.com/the-house-with-no-flags/
Chapter 23 The Trial https://www.theickabog.com/the-trial/
Chapter 24 The Bandalore https://www.theickabog.com/the-bandalore/
Chapter 25 Lord Spittleworth's Problem https://www.theickabog.com/lord-spittleworths-problem/
Chapter 26 A job for Mr Dovetail https://www.theickabog.com/a-job-for-mr-dovetail/
Chapter 27 Kidnapped https://www.theickabog.com/kidnapped/
Chapter 28 Ma Grunter https://www.theickabog.com/ma-grunter/
Chapter 29 Mrs Beamish worries https://www.theickabog.com/mrs-beamish-worries/
Chapter 30 The Foot https://www.theickabog.com/the-foot/
Chapter 31 Disappearance of a butcher https://www.theickabog.com/disappearance-of-a-butcher/
Chapter 32 A flaw in the plan https://www.theickabog.com/a-flaw-in-the-plan/
Chapter 33 King Fred is worried https://www.theickabog.com/king-fred-is-worried/
Chapter 34 Three More Feet https://www.theickabog.com/three-more-feet/
Chapter 35 Lord Spittleworth's Proposal https://www.theickabog.com/lord-spittleworths-proposal/
Chapter 36 Cornucopia Hungry https://www.theickabog.com/cornucopia-hungry/
Chapter 37 Daisy and the Moon https://www.theickabog.com/daisy-and-the-moon/
Chapter 38 Lord Spittleworth comes to call https://www.theickabog.com/lord-spittleworth-comes-to-call/
Chapter 39 Bert and The Ickabog Defence League https://www.theickabog.com/bert-and-the-ickabog-defence-brigade/
Chapter 40 Bert finds a Clue https://www.theickabog.com/bert-finds-a-clue/
Chapter 41 Mrs Beamish's Plan https://www.theickabog.com/mrs-beamishs-plan/
Chapter 42 Behind the Curtain https://www.theickabog.com/behind-the-curtain/
Chapter 43 Bert and the Guard https://www.theickabog.com/bert-and-the-guard/
Chapter 44 Mrs Beamish Fights Back https://www.theickabog.com/mrs-beamish-fights-back/
Chapter 45 Bert in Jeroboam https://www.theickabog.com/bert-in-jeroboam/
Chapter 46 The Tale of Roderick Roach https://www.theickabog.com/the-tale-of-roderick-roach/
Chapter 47 Down in the Dungeons https://www.theickabog.com/down-in-the-dungeons/
Chapter 48 Bert and Daisy find each other https://www.theickabog.com/bert-and-daisy-find-each-other/
Chapter 49 Escape from Ma Grunter's https://www.theickabog.com/escape-from-ma-grunters/
Chapter 50 A Winter's Journey https://www.theickabog.com/a-winters-journey/
Chapter 51 Inside the Cave https://www.theickabog.com/inside-the-cave/
Chapter 52 Mushrooms https://www.theickabog.com/mushrooms/
Chapter 53 The Mysterious Monster https://www.theickabog.com/the-mysterious-monster/
Chapter 54 The Song of the Ickabog https://www.theickabog.com/the-song-of-the-ickabog/
Chapter 55 Spittleworth offends the King https://www.theickabog.com/spittleworth-offends-the-king/
Chapter 56 The Dungeon Plot https://www.theickabog.com/the-dungeon-plot/
Chapter 57 Daisy's Plan https://www.theickabog.com/daisys-plan/
Chapter 58 Hetty Hopkins https://www.theickabog.com/hetty-hopkins/
Chapter 59 Back to Jeroboam https://www.theickabog.com/back-to-jeroboam/
Chapter 60 Rebellion https://www.theickabog.com/rebellion/
Chapter 61 Flapoon Fires Again! https://www.theickabog.com/flapoon-fires-again/
Chapter 62 The Bornding https://www.theickabog.com/the-bornding/
Chapter 63 Lord Spittleworth's Last Plan https://www.theickabog.com/lord-spittleworths-last-plan/
Chapter 64 Cornucopia Again https://www.theickabog.com/cornucopia-again/

 

 

 

 

Good luck and I hope you enjoy the story!
Top